Organisation of the Islamic Conference (OIC)

In International Organization on May 1, 2009 by viCheth

The Organisation of the Islamic Conference (OIC) is an international organisation with a permanent delegation to the United Nations. It groups 57 member states, from the Middle East, Africa, Central Asia, Caucasus, Balkans, Southeast Asia, South Asia and South America. The official languages of the organisation are Arabic, English and French.


History and goals

Since the nineteenth century, many Muslims had aspired to uniting the Muslim ummah to serve their common political, economic, and social interests. Despite the presence of secularist, nationalist, and socialist ideologies, in modern Muslim states, King Faysal of Saudi Arabia and Zulfikar Ali Bhutto of Pakistan cooperated with other Muslim leaders to form the Organisation of the Islamic Conference. The formation of the OIC happened in the backdrop of the loss of Muslim holy sites in Jerusalem. The final cause sufficiently compelled leaders of Muslim nations were to meet in Rabat to establish the OIC on September 25, 1969.[1]

According to its charter, the OIC aims to preserve Islamic social and economic values; promote solidarity amongst member states; increase cooperation in social, economic, cultural, scientific, and political areas; uphold international peace and security; and advance education, particularly in the fields of science and technology.[1]

The flag of the OIC (shown above) has an overall green background (symbolic of Islam). In the center, there is an upward-facing red crescent enveloped in a white disc. On the disc the words "Allahu Akbar" (Arabic for "God is great") are written in modern Arabic calligraphy.

On August 5, 1990, 45 foreign ministers of the OIC adopted the Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam (not to be confused with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights) to serve as a guidance for the member states in the matters of "human rights" in as much as they are compatible with the Sharia, or Quranic Law.[2]


Afghanistan, 1969 ; Suspended 1980 – March 1989

Algeria, 1969

Chad, 1969

Egypt, 1969; Suspended May 1979 – March 1984

Guinea, 1969

Indonesia, 1969

Iran, 1969

Jordan, 1969

Kuwait, 1969

Lebanon, 1969

Libya, 1969

Malaysia, 1969

Mali, 1969

Mauritania, 1969

Morocco, 1969

Niger, 1969

Pakistan, 1969

Palestine, represented by the Palestine Liberation Organisation

Saudi Arabia, 1969

Senegal, 1969

Sudan, 1969

Somalia. 1969

Tunisia, 1969

Turkey, 1969

Flag of Yemen Arab Republic Yemen Arab Republic. 1969
Bahrain, 1970
Oman, 1970

Qatar, 1970

Syrian 1970

United Arab Emirates, 1970

Sierra Leone, 1972

Bangladesh, 1974

Gabon, 1974

Gambia, 1974

Guinea-Bissau, 1974

Uganda, 1974

Burkina Faso, 1975

Cameroon, 1975

Comoros, 1976

Iraq, 1976

Maldives, 1976

Djibouti, 1978

Benin, 1982

Brunei 1984

Nigeria, 1986

Azerbaijan, 1991

Albania, 1992

Kyrgyzstan, 1992

Tajikistan, 1992

Turkmenistan, 1992

Mozambique, 1994

Kazakhstan, 1995

Uzbekistan, 1995

Suriname, 1996

Togo, 1997

Guyana, 1998

Côte d’Ivoire, 2001 ;Suspended or Withdrawn

Zanzibar Jan 1993; Withdrew August 1993

Observer States

Bosnia and Herzegovina 1994

Central African Republic 1997

Northern Cyprus, 1979; Official 2004

Thailand, 1998

Russian , 2005



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: